BedlingtonStation PrimarySchool


A welcome from the Chair of Governors – John Batey

I am immensely proud to serve as Chair of Governors for this exciting, innovative and creative school. As Governors, it is our duty to co-operate with the Head and Senior Leadership Team and act as ‘critical friends’ as they work to develop your children.

The Governors’ role is to monitor and evaluate our school, so that it continues to build on its success, and ensure that the high targets we set are achieved. Bedlington Station Primary School focuses upon the individual needs of each pupil, and creates such valuable opportunities, to ensure that all pupils can strive to reach their full potential. The quality of the school is reflected in the quality of the staff, who form a truly dedicated team and who have faith in the equal value of every pupil.

It is a joy to walk into any classroom here and see smiling, open faces turn in greeting. Our pupils know that they are protected by the ethos of the school and can rise to any challenge. But the school can only build on the platform created by our parents, and without strong parental support, the children will never achieve their true capabilities.

The experience of Covid-19 has revealed just how quickly the youngest children can fall behind. They need extra time reading, talking, playing and singing. This is why parents and teachers have to share in providing the best possible start in life for the children of Bedlington Station. I want Bedlington Station Primary School to go from ‘Good’ to ‘Outstanding’ in the judgement of the Ofsted Inspectors, a judgement which is based on four elements:        

  • the quality of education
  • behaviour and attitudes
  • personal development
  • leadership and management

Our pupils can match those of any school in the country, whatever their background, just as long as we work in partnership over all four of these areas.


The Governing Body of Bedlington Station Primary School comprises:

3 Parent Governors

1 LA Governor

1 Staff Governor

1 Headteacher

5 Co-Opted Governors

Total:  11


Governor Register of Interests